AdoptMatch | Adoptive Family Details

Adoptive Family Details

Family Facts

  • Children: One Child
  • Region: West
  • Faith: Christian
  • Education: Graduate Degree

Erik & Tara

Although we have never met you, we have been thinking about you and praying for you often. We realize that you may have faced, and may still be facing, some challenges that feel overwhelming. The uncertainty of the future, grief and the
difficulty of knowing if you are making good decisions may seem like a struggle at times. We want to communicate very clearly to you that regardless of the decisions you make, we want the best for you both. We want to thank you for considering us as a
family to cherish, protect and nurture your child if you were to choose adoption. We are not perfect, but we humbly offer our love to you and your baby. God has placed in us a desire to open our home and hearts to a mother and child who may need us. That may or may not be you, but nevertheless we pray that you receive the support and guidance you need to feel confidence and peace in the decisions that lie ahead of you.

More Photos

Why Adoption?

We want to love you and your child through this process. Our journey to parenthood was filled with loss, but it brought us to you. Adoption is a part of Tara's family story and a part of her job. Tara works for an orphanage in Zimbabwe and works to encourage families there to adopt and foster. Erik works as a therapist and has a gift for helping individuals struggling with grief and loss. Erik has helped adoptees engage in healthy connections with birth families, and he has helped birth parents heal and connect to the brave love within them.

Our Home & Community

We live in a two-story, four-bedroom house with a finished basement. Tara works from home, so one of these bedrooms is her office. Erik also has a desk in there for when he works in his small private practice in counseling. All four bedrooms are on the top floor. The basement has a large room for children to play, for us to work out, and a big comfy couch where we like to watch movies together. Our backyard is one of our favorite places to hang out... it has lots of trees and four raised-beds where we grow vegetables and lots of flowers. Tara's favorite thing to do is make our yard beautiful. A swing and a hammock make for good places to relax and the best part for kids is the playhouse, complete with a tiny kitchen and table and chairs. Our neighborhood is really special. We know all of the neighbors on our street, and every year around Christmas for the past 17 years they have a street-wide progressive party. The entire street is lit with luminaries. There are lots of families with young kids, and in the evenings you will often see them riding up and down the street on their bikes or scooters together. Just around the corner is an open space with a playground and a dog park where we walk almost every day!

Get To Know Us

In order to accurately describe Tara, you have to look at her through a few lenses. As a friend, Tara always goes the extra mile and thinks of things individuals would like. As a spouse, she is the CEO of the home and has created a wonderful home for us to live in. She is an good cook and a very healthy one at that. She enjoys all walks of life and takes pride in the fact that she enjoys the cultures around her. Tara is a very energetic morning person and she likes to do as much as she can each and every day. As a mother, TARA IS AMAZING. How she talks to our daughter is so natural, caring, compassionate, and loving. (Written by Erik). Erik is an exceptional friend, partner and father. The kind of man he is – always looking for ways to give to others. This is why he is an excellent counselor and has helped so many people overcome hard things in their lives. Erik is fun-loving, social, and enjoys camping and sports. As a spouse, Erik is committed and kind. As a dad, Erik is involved and fun. Even though he could work late to make more money, he always comes home to enjoy dinner as a family and be part of the bedtime routine with our daughter. He is constantly looking for ways to connect. He is very committed to family. (Written by Tara). Sydney is six years old and even though she is tiny, she is mighty! She is our miracle born through IVF. She loves to play “mommy” with dolls and will be a great help to a little sibling. She enjoys riding her bike around the neighborhood with her friends. Sydney is a social butterfly and enjoys meeting new people – she will strike up a conversation with anyone in the airport and is adventurous and open to new things. We have two dogs that are definitely family members! Kona is an 11-year-old Chocolate Lab with an intense gaze and she always wants to please. Tahoe is a 7- year-old Mastiff / Shepherd mix (ok, he’s a mutt!) who is probably the most chill dog on the planet. He just likes to lay around. Both dogs are super gentle and let our daughter dress them up and do all kinds of things.

What We're All About

Spending time in the mountains is a big part of who we are – camping, backpacking and hiking are pretty much our ideal way to spend a weekend. In the winter we like skiing and making an annual trip to Steamboat Springs for some fun in the snow. We love the outdoors so much we have a travel trailer we use for camping that makes it easier to camp with small children. Music and culture are other things we really like to engage in as well. Erik loves his concerts, Tara loves her museums and art shows. Sporting events, are always a blast and we find hope, courage and perspective in going to church and worshiping with others.