Welcome! Meet:

Tyler + Julie

3rd Grade Teacher / Student Advocate



All About Tyler & Julie

Tyler is a third-grade teacher at an elementary school a few blocks from home, where he has worked for 12 years.  He loves his job because he gets to interact with and build relationships with children at a very fun age.  His favorite parts of teaching are helping kids discover that they love reading and getting kids to realize that they love math.  One of Tyler’s favorite hobbies is playing music with people.  He has been playing guitar and singing with a group of friends for years.  Tyler also follows sports closely, and baseball and basketball are his favorites. When relaxing, he can be found snuggling with Pippin while reading.  His favorite books are fantasy, such as The Lord of the Rings and The Name of the Wind, but he loves books from many genres. Playing card and board games is another hobby of his; he especially enjoys Cribbage and Settlers of Catan.  Finally, in the summers, he loves going camping with Julie and his family in the mountains and disc golfing with friends. Julie would describe Tyler as caring, adventurous, and empathetic.

Julie works as a Student Advocate at an elementary school that is 5 minutes from home. She loves her job and cares deeply for the students that she works with. The parts she loves most about her job are showing kids different tools to help them focus and helping kids build strategies for being mindful of their actions and words.   Julie’s favorite show is The Big Bang Theory because it makes her laugh, though she also enjoys medical dramas like Grey’s Anatomy. She is a great cook, and some of her best recipes are pizza on the grill, homemade mac and cheese (Tyler’s favorite), and enchiladas with tomatillo sauce. Julie’s passion has always been for traveling.  Her favorite trips have been to Ireland, and the islands in Greece. She also loves to travel closer to home, especially to go tide pooling at the Oregon coast.  When she is relaxing, Julie often does puzzles and loves playing with Pippin. On the weekends, she likes to sip chai with friends at a coffee shop and loves having friends over for dinner and board games. Tyler would describe Julie as kind, selfless, and patient.

From the start, we have felt connected over our interests.  We both share a love of traveling, animals (especially dogs), live music, sports, and board games. After we got to know each other, we realized we also both had a passion for working with children. One of our favorite traditions is collecting magnets from places we visit, which are organized in the order of our trips on our refrigerator. Together, we love to go kayaking, build large Lego sets, go on dog walks, and visit new places. We also love having friends over for dinner, board games, and to watch sports. When we are kayaking, we love to keep an eye out for wildlife (turtles and birds are our favorites).

Why Adoption?

We chose adoption because we love children and want to be parents. We are unable to have children biologically, and parenting through open adoption feels very child-centered. We also feel that birth families are a vital part of a child’s sense of self, so including birth families in our extended family and in our child’s upbringing through open adoption is a priority for us.

Family & Home

Our careers brought us to Southern Oregon in 2012, and we were married in the summer of 2013. Southern Oregon is where we have created a home and found our community. Our jobs in education have led to us getting to know many people who live in our community, and we have many close relationships with people we have met through working in schools.  We love our neighborhood, town, and the natural beauty of the surrounding countryside.

We share our home with our dog, Pippin.  He is half beagle, 4 years old, and has a passion for balls, digging, and socks. Our house has a great location near the center of town, with a large, fenced front and back yard. Julie enjoys gardening in the yard, and Tyler enjoys playing guitar on the back porch.

We are both very close with our families, and we both feel that family is very important. Our immediate families both live around the same city in Oregon, and have grown close over the years. As a family, we get together for holidays, traditions, and often, just for fun.

Our extended families live across the country from us, and we enjoy traveling to visit them frequently, especially in the summers.

How others describe me

Tyler describes Julie as kind, selfless, and patient.  He loves that she is loving and compassionate, that she is devoted to the kids she works with, her sense of humor, and that she is curious and adventurous.  

Julie describes Tyler as caring, adventurous, and empathetic.  She loves that he is dedicated to his students, that he loves animals, that he encourages her to try new things, and how goofy he is.

how we met

How We Met

We met through a mutual friend almost 20 years ago at a county fair.  We lived in different cities at the time and kept in contact over the next five years when Julie moved to the city that Tyler lived in.  We began dating a few months later and were married a few years after that.  We have been married for 11 years.

Advice to Future Child

We hope our child is curious and asks questions, stays connected to their culture, and prioritizes relationships with those they care about.  We hope our child finds ways to artistically express themselves and find activities that make them happy.  We hope they try new things and that they persevere when faced with challenges. We hope they explore the world with an open heart.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

Both of our families are very excited about our decision to extend our family through open adoption and will be very present and supportive throughout the process. It’s extremely important to us that our child grows up knowing their first family and being connected to their culture. Having that connection through open adoption will help our child understand where they have come from, who they are, and who they will become. Our dream is that our child’s first family becomes a part of our extended family, sharing in their joys, successes, and milestones as they grow up. 


  • Favorite Movie: Jurassic Park
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas
  • Hobbies/Interests: playing guitar, reading, board games, hiking, kayaking, camping
  • Dream Vacation: exploring a new city on foot
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: being able to play any instrument
  • Favorite Movie: The Holiday
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas
  • Hobbies/Interests: reading, gardening, dog walks with Pippin, traveling, kayaking, cooking, board games
  • Dream Vacation: anywhere abroad
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: being able to teleport

We’re here to help.