Welcome! Meet:

Andy + Bob

Piano Teacher / Lawyer

Oregon

Caucasian

All About Andy & Bob

Hello!  We’re Andy & Bob. We live in Portland, Oregon with our tuxedo cat, Lina. We can’t wait to become dads!

We started dating 13 years ago and got married in 2019. We’ve known from the beginning that we want to be parents. Andy has worked as a preschool teacher and piano teacher, so he is always around kids and loves it. Bob also worked with kids for many years, working as a piano teacher and a choir director before becoming a lawyer–he loves kids, too. Most of our close friends have kids, and we recently became uncles!

Some weekends we like to go hiking, visit the coast, and ride bikes on trails and open roads. Other weekends we enjoy visiting a coffee shop or park in our neighborhood or somewhere else in the city.

Why Adoption?

As a gay couple, we have always known we wanted to adopt. From our first day dating, we knew it was important to us to someday have a child and become fathers. Although there are other ways we could have become parents, we feel like becoming parents to a child who is already here or on the way lines up more with what we want in building our family.

Family & Home

We live in a 100 year old house in a close-in neighborhood in Portland, Oregon. We are close to downtown–so close Bob can walk to work–but we are surrounded by green space. Our neighborhood is historic with tall, beautiful trees and city parks, and the houses have gorgeous gardens. We grow herbs and flowers in our pots, and our cat, Lina, loves to think of herself as queen of the house.

Andy is a piano teacher, and many of his students live in the neighborhood. We often run into students, neighbors, and friends as we take our walks. We love living in Portland! It’s an easy city to get around via walking, biking, and bus, so we mostly do that. We also have a car, which we use for trips to the mountains, coast, and to visit family. 

We are very close with our families. We text and talk multiple times a week, and will often take weekend trips to visit Bob’s family in Washington and Andy’s family in Oregon.

How others describe me

Andy is fun, high-energy, and organized. He likes to spend time with friends and neighbors and is the type of person who checks in on people, always ready to jump in and help. He is an artist and musician, dinner party host extraordinaire, and hilarious. On a weekend you’ll find him out on a run or bike ride, out with friends, or listening to pop music.

Bob is thoughtful, caring, and conscientious. He’s a nice balance to Andy in that he is quieter but always engaged and ready to contribute a careful observation. He cares deeply about those he loves, especially his family. He’s also brilliant, but is not the type of guy to admit that he graduated at the top of his law school class. He loves oddities, peculiarities, and beautiful objects.

how we met

How We Met

We met while both interviewing for the same music school in 2007 learned early on that we have a lot in common: we both play piano, love the arts, and enjoy reading, eating great food, running, traveling to new places, and playing board games. We also each have our own interests and hobbies. For instance, Andy loves to cook and recently completed his first two triathlons. Bob likes to be involved with our church, where he helps to organize volunteers and sometimes helps with music.

After college, our relationship was long-distance for a couple of years while we completed some more studies–Andy in New York City, and Bob in Victoria, BC. Then, we moved together to Massachusetts, where we both worked as musicians. After a while we missed our families, so in 2019, we moved back to the beautiful Pacific Northwest and decided that Portland was the right spot for us. We also got married soon after moving to Portland. Bob’s family lives in the Tacoma area, and Andy’s family is in Southern Oregon, so Portland is right in the middle and easy to get to both. We see our family a lot; either they come visit us or we go to see them.

Advice to Future Child

Be who you are! We love you and want you to live the best version of your life. 

Be kind to people, including yourself. Do what you can. Do your best.

Good work always finds a home. Don’t worry too much about what is trendy or what you think will make others happy; focus on the quality of your work. 

Be honest. Don’t bury your head in the sand.

You are a citizen of the world. Think about others and your community, and make sure you are contributing good and beauty to this world.

Ask “why?”

Remember that lots of people love you.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We are hoping to have an open adoption. Openness in adoption is important to us because we want our child to grow up knowing just how much they are loved–both by us and by their biological family. We moved to Oregon to be closer to our families, and we want to welcome our child’s biological family as part of our extended family. We stay close to our family by regular visits, phone calls, and texts, and we hope to be able to develop a similar relationship with our child’s biological family.

Favorites

Andy
  • Favorite Movie: 2001 Space Odyssey
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: I LOVE Thanksgiving–so much good food to make and consume! Bob and I also love going to the Oregon Coast every year; it’s my happy place.
  • Hobbies/Interests: piano & music, Triathlons (swimming, biking, & running), cooking, baking bread, reading, traveling
  • Dream Vacation: Argentina–I’d love to see Buenos Aires and Mendoza, and go hiking in the Andes Mountains
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Fly–of course!
Bob
  • Favorite Movie: Best in Show
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Family time around Christmas; Midsummer (Scandinavian holiday)
  • Hobbies/Interests: music, reading, hiking, running, Scandinavian baking, espresso
  • Dream Vacation: walking trip through Italy
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Time travel!

We’re here to help.