Welcome! Meet:

Bud + Jessica

Library Circulation Supervisor / Operational Excellence Specialist



Jewish / Christian

All About Bud & Jessica

We are Bud and Jessica. We live in western Wisconsin in our house with two cats (Biscuit and Pepper). We have been together for close to 12 years. We try to make the most out of life. We enjoy hiking, museums, antiquing, watching movies and going on day trips to explore the area. We are excited to share our lives with a child and watch them grow. We hope to give them the best life possible.

Why Adoption?

We have struggled with infertility for a long time. We’ve known that adoption was likely to be the way to have a child and we are excited for this journey. We particularly are interested in the experience of raising a child through all phases of their life, which hopefully adoption will allow us to do. We also appreciate that it gives us the opportunity to provide a safe and loving home for a child.

Family & Home

We live in a cute mid-century brick ranch in a very nice neighborhood in western Wisconsin. We live in a small city set between sandstone bluffs (which we have a great view of from our living room) and the Mississippi river. It’s a beautiful area and a good city with lots of amenities. 

We are very close to our families. Jessica is the oldest of four, with two younger sisters and a younger brother. She has two brother-in-laws and one niece (who is so excited to have a baby cousin). Her family gets together regularly, most often at her parents’ home. 

Bud has one younger brother and an older step-sister and step-brother. All three of them are married and he has two nephews and one step-niece. He also has four uncles and an extensive network of cousins, most of whom live near his immediate family. We see all of them quite regularly. 

We also regularly visit Bud’s grandpa (still able and independent at 92 years old) and Jessica’s grandparents.

How others describe me

Bud is easy-going, fun, kind and smart. He’s always up for an adventure and will try anything once. He is affectionate and loves spending time with family. He’s open minded and always interested in learning or experiencing new things. 

Jessica is talented and has a lot of love to give. She has a lot of hobbies. She’s a magnificent cook and huge bookworm. She’s very caring, loving and kind. She goes out of her way to make sure that other people are taken care of.

how we met

How We Met

We met online. We chatted for a month and a half before meeting in person. We ended up spending the whole day together. We were engaged 4 months later and married about a year after that. We’ve now been married for 12 years.

Advice to Future Child

Always know that we are here for you and will love you no matter what. You can always come home if you need to and we will provide a safe place for you. Life may send challenges your way but know that you are not alone - we are here to support you. You’ll never need to be afraid to tell us anything. We have your needs at heart and will work with you through anything. We want to give you the tools to help you thrive at whatever you want to do.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We are open to an open adoption to a level that all parties find comfortable. We see great value in our child having ties to their biological family. Open adoption will allow them to keep those ties and help with questions about their birth story. We want to keep a connection with both families and ensure a means of communication. Also who wouldn’t appreciate more family?


  • Favorite Movie: Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Yom Kippur which is a Jewish holiday where you think about the people you’ve wronged over the past year. I enjoy it because it encourages self-reflection and becoming a better person. Thanksgiving and Hanukkah are close behind.
  • Hobbies/Interests: chess, Jewish studies, writing poetry, reading (short fiction and non-fiction), hiking, museums, music (especially jazz)
  • Dream Vacation: A grand tour of Europe
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: mind-reading
  • Favorite Movie: Barbie
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas - my family does what we call “smorgasboard” which is a huge spread of deli meats, cheeses, crackers, cold shrimp, veggies, olives, pickles, plus of course cookies and whatnot. Think a charcuterie board on steroids. We’ve been doing this since I was a child and it’s always a fun meal.
  • Hobbies/Interests: reading, photography, crafts, hiking, art, cooking, baking
  • Dream Vacation: Tour of the UK (England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales)
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: telekinesis

We’re here to help.