Welcome! Meet:

David + Kathryn

Physician / Homemaker




All About David & Kathryn

Hello! We are so thankful for you taking the time to get to know us better. We know your decision is a difficult one to make, and we pray that you will feel supported throughout this process.

We have been married for almost 10 years, and after moving around the country a bit for David’s medical training, we have settled back in Kathryn’s hometown and are enjoying the peace and freedom that come with living in the rural countryside! We love living our life together, and embracing new challenges and experiences while also appreciating and enjoying the slower seasons of life.

Some things we enjoy doing together are traveling, taking walks and hikes, playing board games, visiting and hosting friends and family for dinner, and cheering on the Kansas City Chiefs.

Why Adoption?

From the start of our marriage, we dreamed of raising a large and happy family. Through the years, however, we have struggled with infertility, and after a few more years of prayer, we began to feel a calling to pursue adoption. Devoting our lives to raising a child has been a dream of ours from the very beginning, and we are thrilled at the possibility of doing that through adoption.

Family & Home

We settled into my (Kathryn’s) childhood home on the family farm in 2022 and have completely renovated it to prepare to welcome a child. Our yard is full of big shade trees, has a beautiful view of the river valley, and a flock of chickens and guinea fowl. We chose this as our forever home because of our desire for a simpler and slower pace of life surrounded by nature, as well as a community that is rooted in faith and family. I absolutely loved my childhood here, and we cannot wait to raise a child here as well!

We have a sweet 9 year old dog named Oliver that we adopted as a puppy just after getting married. The farm we live on is his happiest place, where he loves to chew on sticks, go for long walks, and dig for field mice with his friends (my parents’ dogs). His favorite things are cuddling, riding in the car, and laying in the sun.

We live within walking distance of both my parents and grandparents, and we spend a great amount of time with them. My brother lives 3 hours away with his wife and their two adorable kiddos. Their son loves all things cows and tractors, so they come out to visit often. I grew up having very close relationships with my grandparents and cousins, and one of the main reasons we chose to settle back into this area was to be able to provide the same opportunity for our future children. 

David comes from a very strongly-bonded family of 11! His mother was born and raised in Ireland and moved to the US when she married his dad, who was stationed overseas as a Marine when they met.

There are 8 boys and 1 girl in his family, he and his identical twin brother being the youngest. We are very close with his twin brother and his wife and spend lots of time with them and their 5 children. Most of the family still live in various parts of Missouri, all within a 3 hour drive from where we live, and we take turns visiting each other often.

There are 24 (and growing!) nieces and nephews in the family, ranging in age from newborn to 21! They are a fun and lively group of kids that we love spending time with and watching grow.

How others describe me

David is one of those people who is able to make friends with anyone he meets. He has a charming and lighthearted character that draws you in and makes you feel welcome and comfortable. He has an amazing amount of generosity towards others, whether they are a friend or a stranger. Of the many ways he makes me laugh, my favorite is when he makes up hilarious and clever song lyrics on the spot, that perfectly rhyme. It’s actually quite impressive!

After watching David interact with his nieces and nephews over the years, I have come to know him as the fun uncle, the “baby whisperer” who can soothe almost any crying baby, and the expert Dad Joke teller. I cannot wait to watch him grow into the amazing father that I know he will be!

Kathryn is the most caring, loyal, and dedicated person I have or ever will know. Her biggest desire in life is to be an amazing wife and an even more incredible mother. She already has surpassed one of these goals, and I can’t wait to see her excel in the other right before my eyes. Thankfully she loves puns and a cheesy sense of humor, otherwise I might have never had the opportunity to know and love her as much as I do. I know if you decide with the great love it takes to allow us to adopt your child, that Kathryn will continue to show him or her that same great love each and every day of their life.

how we met

How We Met

We first crossed paths in college in Biology class - or as David likes to say, “We met in Biology where we later developed chemistry” (he is one for dad jokes). We became friends while studying together, and began dating a year later. We built our connection over our shared faith, which continues to be the greatest source of strength in our relationship. We got married at Christmas time in 2014 in the beautiful church in Kathryn’s hometown.

Advice to Future Child

Our promise to you is that we will provide a warm and loving home for your child. One where they will experience a childhood full of innocence and wonder, yet also be guided side-by-side with us into building strong character and virtue to carry into adulthood. 

We understand that each child is a unique soul with unique talents, interests, and struggles, and we promise to aid them to develop, and overcome them. We plan to be honest with them about their adoption story and celebrate the journey that brought them into our family.

“Sacrifice is difficult and trying. Only love can make it easy, and perfect love can make it a joy.” We strive daily to live by these words from our wedding vows, and understand that they apply to parenthood as well. We look forward to the sacrifices that we know come with the journey, and look forward to making them joyfully.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We completely support the decision to have an open adoption, and would be happy to work together to find an arrangement that works best for everyone. We understand this decision impacts all those involved for years to come, so we want to be sure that we, you, and your child all feel that our needs are being met.


  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: annual July 4th BBQ and fireworks show at our house
  • Hobbies/Interests: golf, hunting, fishing, violin, grilling and smoking meats, history
  • Dream Vacation: Italy
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: invincibility
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: It’s between Christmas, and 4th of July when we throw a big BBQ party every year!
  • Hobbies/Interests: taking care of animals, baking bread, crafting, thrifting, scratch cooking, canning garden produce, learning how to do things “the old-fashioned way”
  • Dream Vacation: Europe
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: being in two places at once

We’re here to help.