Welcome! Meet:

Eden + Amy

Editor and Proofreader / Healthcare Consultant




All About Eden & Amy

We have two children, Frances (6) and Dae (3), and we are so excited to continue to grow our family through adoption! We spend weekends doing family-friendly activities around town: going to farmers markets, the pool, playgrounds and parks, and taking family bike rides. In the winter we enjoy sledding and ice skating, and visiting the library, the YMCA, and the Children’s Museum. Amy works as a healthcare consultant (from home and occasionally traveling) and Eden works from home as an editor and proofreader.

Why Adoption?

What makes us a strong blended family is that we love and care for one another. We’ve created a chosen family who our children can look up to. These loved ones accept us for who we are, and they value our unique family. Our trusted community also includes Frances and Dae’s biological father (a sperm donor and friend) who we stay in contact with by sending cards and visiting frequently. Adoption has been a part of our family plan since before we got married! Adoption will add richness to our lives and the lives of those around us.

Family & Home

We live in Northfield, Minnesota, a college town about an hour south of the Twin Cities. It is a very vibrant, family-friendly small town and we have a very strong community of friends and family here. We enjoy hosting frequent neighborhood gatherings at our home and we get to spend lots of time with Eden’s sister Maggie and her family. Both of Eden’s parents live in Northfield and Amy’s parents visit frequently.

How others describe me

Eden says: Amy is happiest when she is outside doing something fun and active with other people. She also finds a lot of joy in helping others and figuring out how to make the world a better place for all. Her ideal weekend is one where we’re out all day playing in the sunshine and having an adventure, like hiking or biking in a new place. Amy doesn’t love doing chores, but does them anyway—usually with a smile on her face—and she even puts in the extra effort to do the chores with kids so they learn how to be more responsible and independent people. Amy is a loyal friend and a tireless advocate for justice.

Fun Facts: Amy started gravel biking last summer and has lived in all four US time zones!


Amy says: Eden is the kindest, most empathetic person you’ll ever meet. She’s been wanting to have children for about 15 years and has been an amazing parent. She deeply understands children and puts them at ease with her calm demeanor and reliable boundaries. She also has a silly side to her that’s fun for me and the kids. She is constantly thinking about her family, how to make our days better and grow the community around us. When she’s not maintaining her freelance business, keeping the household humming or watching shows with me, she’s probably at a yoga class, on a jog or reading a good book.

Fun Facts: Eden grew up in Wisconsin and lived in Japan; she also has a PhD in linguistics and enjoys playing with words

how we met

How We Met

We met playing ultimate frisbee and quickly fell in love. We got married and soon after decided to start growing our family. Amy gave birth to our daughter Frances and a few years later Eden gave birth to our son Dae. We moved several times for jobs and graduate school, and to be closer to family (the biggest move was from Massachusetts to Minnesota). It’s been a full several years, but we’ve finally settled into our house and town and feel like we’re home. We both enjoy our jobs, have friends over almost every week and like having family nearby! Now that we’re settled, we finally have space in our hearts and home for more children.

Advice to Future Child

Our hope for any children that join our family in the future is that they would take pride in their own biological story and how they came to be a part of our family.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We feel strongly that open adoption can be a positive thing for everyone involved. We advocate for open adoption whenever possible. In fact, we chose a sperm donor who we knew personally because we wanted Frances and Dae to be able to have a long-term relationship with their biological father if they so choose. We believe open adoption allows children to feel a sense of belonging in both their family of origin and their adoptive family. We would love to find ways to incorporate birth parents and other birth family members and heritage into their lives and our family (through cards, pictures, or visits).


  • Favorite Movie: Encanto
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: for any holiday, cooking and eating a delicious meal together; also decorating the Christmas tree
  • Hobbies/Interests: yoga, running, biking, and cooking delicious meals; playing and exploring with kids and watching them grow
  • Dream Vacation: going back to Japan to show my family all the cool places and food that I discovered when I lived there, and finding new places and food to love
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: making kid bedtime short and sweet
  • Favorite Movie: Get Out
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: spending the day after Thanksgiving outside
  • Hobbies/Interests: biking, baking, hanging out with friends, and snuggling with Frances and Dae
  • Dream Vacation: hiking in southern Argentina
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: flying

We’re here to help.