Welcome! Meet:


Law and Policy




All About Jacqueline

Hello! My name is Jacqueline; many of my friends call me Jacqui. Thank you for choosing to explore my profile. I appreciate that you are working through a huge decision, and I want you to know you have my support, regardless of your ultimate decision.

Having not been in your shoes, I can’t imagine the anxiety and complex emotions you are working through as you create an adoption plan, but I do want you to know that I respect you as a person and respect that you are making extremely difficult choices during this time in your life. My goal for this profile is to provide insight into who I am, why I am so excited to be a parent, and how I envision raising a child.

In a nutshell, I’m a single, financially independent woman. My family, friends, and career are extremely important to me. I value education, travel, new experiences, as well as holiday traditions, and I have long considered adoption to be part of my journey. One of my best friends throughout childhood was adopted as a baby from Korea and my father’s cousin adopted her daughters from China. It has been a pleasure to watch them grow into amazing adults. This exposure to adoption on both sides of the equation influenced my family planning early on.

Why Adoption?

I have friends and family members that were adopted and I have long thought that adoption would be part of my journey. I love children and am excited about the opportunity to become a parent but have never felt a strong desire to have one biologically.

Family & Home

In 2022, I sold my first place and purchased my current townhouse to give me a little more room. The new townhouse adds a basement and a small patio, which I love (as does my dog). I’m in an end unit, which means there is plenty of sun streaming through the windows but on rainy weekends, the couch in the living room is the perfect place to snuggle up with the pets and sip coffee while reading or knitting. I imagine myself reading stories to a tired or cranky little one from that same spot as we listen to the rain outside.

I stayed in my community because of the people, amenities, and convenience to downtown. I love that when it is nice out, I can walk to the pool, farmers market, grocery store and restaurants and even pick up a trail if I want to walk further. It is also very dog-friendly, so you constantly see dogs (and their people) out and about. 

There are a lot of kids in my neighborhood and the community does a great job of making the area family friendly with several playgrounds for the younger kids and activities (e.g., outdoor swimming pools, tennis, and basketball courts) for all ages. There is a preschool and an elementary school within walking distance from my house. Halloween is one of my favorite times of year in the neighborhood; I always rush home early to be there to hand out candy to the pint-sized trick-or-treaters.
In terms of family, I grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, MN in a stable, two-parent household. My dad was a college professor and my mom held senior positions in various corporations throughout our childhood. Despite their work, family dinners were always a priority.  

I am very close with my parents and love going back to MN to visit my younger brother. Perhaps unsurprisingly many of my core values were passed down from my family: education, travel, and new experiences. Both of my parents worked extremely hard to get their education (PhD and MBA) and expected me and my brother to graduate college. We did and I ultimately went on to graduate from law school as well. I see a lot of value in education as a way to gain exposure to new ideas. I’m also a strong believer in education going beyond the classroom. Travel and new experience (e.g., whether trying a new sport or hobby) can have many of the same benefits/impact as formal education. For example, when I was in middle school, I did a student ambassador trip to the United Kingdom. As part of this experience, I stayed with host-families and even went to school with their children for a couple of days. I learned that we might have different customs but, at our core, people are people and have many similar interests and concerns.

These are values I really look forward to instilling in the next generation. I am very excited to help a child discover his/her great adventures regardless of the form it takes -- a new book, recipe, hike, or travel destination, etc.

Advice to Future Child

Keep going. When life gets tough, inhale, exhale, and break down a problem to identify bite sized steps towards a solution.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

I would hope to stay in contact with the birth parents. I would love for him/her to be able to know you and feel comfortable reaching out to you with life’s big and small questions. Regardless of the level of openness (photos, letters, phone calls, or visits), this child will always know of your love for them, and they will know this was a loving choice.


  • Favorite Movie: My Girl or Benny and Joon
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I love to host family and friends. I take the lead on cooking/baking, but everyone pitches in, and we hang out, talk, laugh, listen to Alice’s Restaurant, and eat way too much.
  • Hobbies/Interests: hiking, baking, knitting, reading
  • Dream Vacation: everywhere
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: teleportation

We’re here to help.