Welcome! Meet:

John + Guru

Clinical Research Nurse / Lead Scientist


Caucasian / Eastern Indian

Christian / Other

All About John & Guru

Hello! We are John and Guru, and we thank you for taking the time to learn more about our family. We sincerely hope that our profile gives you a glimpse of our life and family and helps you in making the best decision for your child. 

We have been together for four years now and have built a solid relationship.  We have always dreamed of building a strong and loving family of our own and are eagerly looking forward to welcoming a child into our hearts, home, and family. 

John grew up in a Boston suburb as the oldest of three children. He was blessed to have loving support from family and friends and enjoyed an active and fulfilling childhood.  Guru grew up in Bangalore, a city in southern India in a loving family comprised of his parents and sister. Growing up in India meant that he was always surrounded by many aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents.  Family, therefore, plays a central part in his life. Over the last decade, we have both been working in the field of cancer, trying to make our small contribution toward better care and treatment for cancer patients.

We love to visit and experience new places, cultures, and foods! We appreciate the beauty of the world around us, and try to soak in as much as we can each year, whether it's around our home or a far-off destination. Recently we had the opportunity to go to Germany and Greece, and hike the Grand Canyon.  We can’t wait to travel with our child and make wonderful memories together!!

In our free time, we like to exercise, go on hikes with our dog, host friends and family for meals and games, and go to the theater. We recently tried our hands at painting and quite enjoyed it! Our latest obsession has been spending time with our 10-month-old nephew, Charlie. We jump at the opportunity to babysit him, meet him, play with him, and build memories together!

Why Adoption?

Having come from solid family backgrounds, we have always dreamed of building a strong and loving family of our own. Adoption, we believe, is the best way to grow our family as a same-sex couple.   

Having had a few adoptive parents in our close friends' circle, we thoroughly understand the responsibility of being adoptive parents and the immense gratitude we owe the birth parent(s) for granting us the incredible gift of becoming parents.

Family & Home

We live in a beautiful town about 20 minutes away from Boston. The town has an excellent school district and provides easy access to a number of activities to enjoy as a family including nature trails and hiking areas, museums, parks, sports and cultural venues etc. Our home is a 4 bedroom cape with a fenced-in yard, located next to a ballpark and children’s playground. Our neighbors are very welcoming, friendly, diverse, and family-oriented. We both come from two different cultures and our home is a cosmopolitan melting pot of the best things of both our cultures.

Most of John’s family, including his mother, sister’s family, aunts, uncles and cousins, as well as some of our close friends live within a short drive from our home. Having our close family and friends around is a huge plus and we look forward to having our child growing up around these important people in a loving and diverse environment.

How others describe me

John in Guru’s words: John's family mantra is to treat others the way you would want to be treated. Being a nurse for many years has made him a very patient, loving, and caring person. He also has the amazing ability to engage enthusiastically with kids in their playtime activities and is a favorite uncle to our friends’ children. He grew up doing a lot of housework – from plumbing to powerwashing to gardening, and is a very hard-working and “handy” person. John enjoys going on long runs, and has run the Boston Marathon twice! 

Guru in John’s words: Guru is a very sensitive and intelligent person. He has grown up and lived in many countries, which has made him worldly and very socially aware. He is a great cook, a passion he imbibed from his mother. He can whip out some delicious Indian, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, and Thai meals. He is a natural caregiver, something I’ve seen him do with our dog Hugo, who is now 14 years old (and Guru has been an excellent parent all this while).

how we met

How We Met

We met in 2018 via a dating app. Right on our first date, we realized how much we had in common – from family values, interests, goals and aspirations in life to our dreams of becoming parents one day. While the initial few months of our relationship were long distance (John in MA and Guru in CT), Guru found a job opportunity in a hospital in Boston in June 2019, and the move has been great both personally and professionally. We have since bought a house together in a beautiful suburb of Boston.

Advice to Future Child

While people may look different, think differently, or have different beliefs, we all deserve to be shown love, compassion, kindness, and acceptance. We will love you and support you unconditionally and hopefully help you become a kind and responsible person.

If you can be only one thing, be kind – Unknown

Perspectives on Open Adoption

Having attended several classes about open adoption (including two by Lori Holden, the author of Open-Hearted Way to Adoption) and having heard from a few of our close friends who are adoptive parents, we are very comfortable with having an open adoption. Through open adoption, we look forward to maintaining ongoing contact with the birth family about their child via photos, visits, etc. and also intend to provide their child the opportunity to get to know them and learn about their background and culture.


  • Favorite Movie: Forrest Gump
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: New Year
  • Hobbies/Interests: running, gardening, traveling
  • Dream Vacation: Japan
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: read minds
  • Favorite Movie: The Sound of Music
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: celebrating Diwali (the festival of lights) and Christmas
  • Hobbies/Interests: traveling, cooking, reading
  • Dream Vacation: France
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: read minds or to be able to fly

We’re here to help.