Welcome! Meet:

John + Joe

Landscape Architect / Engineer

California

Caucasian / Asian

None / Catholic

All About John & Joe

Hello! Thanks for viewing our profile! We are John and Joe and live in Long Beach, CA. John is originally from Melbourne, Australia, and Joe is a native Californian. We have been together for 7 years and have had many exciting adventures traveling around the world. From Beijing to London to Mexico City, we love to travel, eat, sightsee, relax and learn what the world has to offer. When not traveling, we enjoy cooking, training for triathlons or marathons, camping, exploring new parts of town, walking our dog, Strawberry, and hanging out with family and friends. Parenthood is an adventure we both always knew we wanted to pursue. Family is very important to us both. John grew up in a large family, while Joe grew up in a much smaller family, but both of us have wonderful memories of our childhood. The love and support we both received from our families make us excited to begin our journey to fatherhood through adoption. We appreciate the difficulty of the decision that you are facing and would like the opportunity to know you.

Why Adoption?

We considered both adoption and surrogacy. At first, Joe wanted to do surrogacy and John wanted to do adoption. After talking it through, we both reversed our thoughts and found ourselves back at square one! In the end, we agreed that adoption made the most sense for our family. It doesn't make any difference whether our child is biologically related to us or not: we will love our child with all of our heart. We believe that every child needs a loving home and that providing a good foundation will ensure a bright and successful future for our child.

Family & Home

We live in the beautiful Naples neighborhood of Long Beach, CA in a single-family two-story house, with lots of natural light. Although we have a small yard (which would be perfect for kids to play in), we also are within walking distance of several parks, playgrounds, and even a kid-friendly beach. That is what is so great about Long Beach; a strong sense of community.

What we love about our neighborhood is that it has a great community feel. All of our neighbors know each other and are always looking out for each other. With several families on our street, our neighborhood closes the street twice a year for a street party celebration. In the weeks leading up to Christmas, the entire neighborhood lights up their house with Christmas decorations and we have our annual boat parade where people from all over the city come to celebrate the holiday season.

On a more personal level, Joe's family lives nearby. His parents often babysit his nephew and nieces and tend to spoil them with many gifts and trips. Joe's sister also lives nearby and she loves her kids more than anything. Often spending late nights sewing a Halloween costume or baking a cake for her kid's birthday, she definitely enjoys taking care of her kids.

John's immediate family is a bit further (Australia). Even though far, John has weekly video chats with this parents, sisters, nieces, and nephews. When we go to Australia every year, there is definitely a lot of family bonding time. John often plays with his nieces and nephews and there is a weekly dinner with all of his immediate family and cousins. Family time is certainly very important.

How others describe me

John (by Joe): John is a caring, loving, passionate, and sometimes stubborn person. He is goal-oriented and resilient. He is a constant seeker of knowledge. He loves to play games with his nieces and nephews and has a tremendous amount of patience. John has a constant itch for adventure but is grounded in his love for family. He fights for equality and always accepts people for who they are.

Joe (by John): Joe is thoughtful, kind, loyal, and incredibly goofy. He is a loving and calming force for those who know him. Joe never forgets that a smile can solve a lot of problems, and that life should be enjoyed. He is a hard-working business owner, entrepreneur, inventor, provider, and loving companion.

how we met

How We Met

We met online while we were both living in China. Joe was working in Shanghai,  and John was in Beijing for work & study. Beijing and Shanghai are about 750 miles apart (we definitely had our online search radius set to max!). We exchanged messages for about a month before actually meeting in person. In a stroke of luck, Joe was visiting Beijing to meet up with friends who had just moved there from California. For our first date, we decided to go running together. Our date went so well that we met up the following day for breakfast. We were so engrossed in our conversation during breakfast, that Joe almost missed his train back to Shanghai. From that day on, we spoke almost daily and met up every two weeks; either John taking the train to Shanghai or Joe taking the train to Beijing.

Advice to Future Child

Learn to love and accept people for who they are. Don't sweat the small stuff, look after other people, and always remember that life is an adventure. It is important to laugh!

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We recognize that adoption is not an easy process to go through for both parents. There are a lot of emotions and decisions to be made. However, it is important to us that our child knows about their birth mother, as it will be an important part of our child's identity. We are open to monthly or yearly communication and will remain flexible and open to maintaining a relationship with the birth mother.

Favorites

John

  • Favorite Movie: Die Hard
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Summertime! Jamming into our tiny beach house with all my siblings, nephews, and nieces. Long days on the beach, cold beers in the afternoon, and cook-ups in the evening.
  • Hobbies/Interests: Cooking, choral music, triathlons, ocean swimming, sailing, architecture, and design
  • Dream Vacation: A six month long road trip from LA to Argentina, stopping along the way wherever we feel like it: eating, napping, and exploring.
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: I'd use singing as sonar and fly in the dark and underwater

Joe

  • Favorite Movie: Goldfinger (James Bond)
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Thanksgiving when family comes together for a home-cooked meal.
  • Hobbies/Interests: Running marathons, tennis, cycling, sailing, swimming, traveling, photography, cooking, tinkering around the house
  • Dream Vacation: Traveling and hiking through Patagonia, South America
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Flying to get quickly get away from awkward situations Bye!