Welcome! Meet:

John + Lauren

Chef Instructor / ENT Physician

Lousiana

Caucasian

Catholic

All About John & Lauren

We have a lot of fun together which makes sense since we have been friends since we were 10 years old. We love to travel and attend music festivals. John is a drummer and comes from a family of musicians. Lauren just loves to be a listener of music, but she is learning how to play guitar. We have two dogs, Mindy and Patty, which are our fur babies. They love kids, especially Patty. We know they would be excited to have another little human in the house to love.

John is an executive chef and loves to prepare gourmet meals. He teaches at the local college Northwestern State University. Lauren is an ear, nose, and throat physician and loves taking care of her patients, especially children and the elderly. In John's free time, he is a jack of all trades. He can fix anything, is an amazing drummer and guitar player, and is incredibly artistic. He makes beautiful things out of wood, including a carving of the ear he did for Lauren. In Lauren's free time, she loves to listen to podcasts, especially true crime, and read murder mystery novels. She is a certified yoga instructor and teaches Buti Yoga.

Why Adoption?

When she was 20 years old, Lauren was diagnosed with premature ovarian failure which made it difficult for her to get pregnant. Lauren knew she wanted to be a mom. She tried fertility shots, but without the result, she had hoped for. Lauren's Catholic faith led her to the decision to pursue adoption, rather than in vitro fertilization. John has always been open to adopting and is very supportive of Lauren's decision. We both feel that adoption is God's plan for us and look forward to what lies ahead.

Family & Home

We live in Natchitoches, a small, close-knit community that values family and God. We have been blessed with a large circle of friends who are all super supportive of our plans to adopt a child.

John is a twin and has a large extended family. His twin sister has two children, Evelyn and Lionel, who are a very important part of our lives.

We live in a beautiful, spacious home, with a fenced-in pool. We have a large backyard with beautiful pecan and pine trees where John has plans to build a tree house. Our neighborhood is small, which has allowed us to get to know our neighbors (and their dogs!) really well. 

How others describe me

John is one of the kindest people I know. He's a loyal friend who always goes out of his way to help others. He is big-hearted,  just like his dad. John is an executive chef and teacher at Northwestern State University. Lucky for me, John loves to prepare gourmet meals. In his free time, John is a jack of all trades. He can fix anything, is an amazing drummer and guitar player, and is incredibly artistic. John is also is a gifted woodcarver. Out of all of his beautiful creations, my favorite is a wooden ear he carved for me.  

Lauren is smart, witty, beautiful, and fun. Lauren is also an ear, nose, and throat doctor (which is why I carved an ear for her!). She loves taking care of her patients, especially children and the elderly, and has helped so many people.