Welcome! Meet:

Jon + Sharon

PhD Candidate / United States Navy


Multi-Ethnic / African American


All About Jon & Sharon

Hi, we are Jon and Sharon Waldron. We are an interracial couple that enjoys celebrating our unique heritage and finding ways to enjoy the simple things of life. We have been married for almost seven years and have lived all over the United States. We love to run, travel, and take long road trips listening to an audiobook. We are also enjoying taking long walks around our neighborhood and trying new restaurants.

Why Adoption?

Prior to our marriage, Sharon had surgery to remove 10-12 fibroids. Unfortunately, the regrowth of new fibroids has led to multiple surgeries and made getting pregnant difficult. We have always been open to adoption and know several families who have adopted children. We have a heart for children and we have plenty of room in our hearts reserved for those special children that God has for us.

Family & Home

We live in a single story house in the small town in Virginia. Our neighborhood is very walkable with 5-6 parks, 3-4 schools, and multiple restaurants within walking distance.  It is easy to find a trail to walk or bike on. Our neighborhood is a small community where everyone knows each other.  You can always find a ride to the airport, someone to watch your dog, or take out your trash. Our church is a 15 minute walk from our house and it is a multi-ethnic, multigenerational church with activities for the children and adults. Our families are spread out across the US. Sharon’s family is mainly in Georgia—where she grew up— Florida, and she has a sister in D.C.  Jon’s parents live in San Diego, but he also has family in Boston, and Colombia.  We try to visit our family 2-3Xs per year and make sure we are present for big events such as weddings, graduations, and baby dedications.


How others describe me

Sharon: I will describe Jon as funny, outgoing, caring, and very sensitive.  He likes to have people around and goes out of his way to pick up people who want a ride. He likes to be there for those who are in need.  He loves his family.

Jon: Sharon is beautiful and tenderhearted. She often acts tough, but wears her heart on her sleeve. No matter how busy she is, she will drop everything to help someone in need.  At Christmastime, she painstakingly tries to get the right gift for everyone — one that they will like— because she wants to see a smile on everyone’s face.

how we met

How We Met

We met in 2016 at a single’s bible study where Jon learned that Sharon was training for a half-marathon. Jon’s interest in the Star Wars themed half- marathon and Sharon’s ability to endure long nerdy conversations allowed the couple to spend many hours running together. Six months later, the Navy moved Sharon to Japan. He visited her in Japan and they had a wonderful time together watching sumo wrestling in Tokyo, playing with the monkeys in Kyoto, and eating Kobe beef in Kobe. Two months after Jon visited Japan, he and Sharon decided to get married (yes, we skipped the dating part). We got married in the courthouse in December 2017 when Sharon was visiting from Japan and had a wedding party the following year.

Advice to Future Child

We believe that every child needs love and is made in the image of God. No child is a mistake and we will be happy to call you our son and daughter.  We believe that our job as parents is to nurture a child’s spirit and confidence.  We will raise you to understand boundaries and limits, while also giving you the independence to explore who you are. We want you to explore your culture and heritage and we will incorporate it into who we are as a family.  We want to have an environment of open communication and no judgment so you learn to grow into yourself with strength and confidence.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

Thank you for considering us as adoptive parents. We realize this is not an easy decision. We will fully support any future desires to be involved in our child’s life. We want to maintain an open relationship between our families and provide opportunities for our child to know about their heritage and family history.


  • Favorite Movie: Fellowship of the Ring
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Thanksgiving
  • Hobbies/Interests: running, reading, playing board games, and playing with my dog
  • Dream Vacation: New Zealand
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: teleportation
  • Favorite Movie: Steel Magnolia
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Thanksgiving
  • Hobbies/Interests: running, reading, cooking, traveling
  • Dream Vacation: Safari in Tanzania
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: move objects with my mind

We’re here to help.