Welcome! Meet:

Joey + Sara

Deputy Standard Agriculture / Child and Family Therapist

California

Caucasian

Christian

All About Joey & Sara

Joey works for the San Bernadino County Agriculture Department as a Deputy, promoting equity in business and ensuring people are protected. Joey studied wine and viticulture in college after his service in the United States Navy. 

After working at Disneyland for twelve years, Sara works as a Child and Family therapist (with adoptive and biological families and mostly with children ages 0-5).

We love to play games and go to our family cabin in Big Bear. In our free time at home we love to watch funny reality TV together, crime shows, and Jeopardy (we even have a fun dance we do every time they hit the ‘Daily Double’.

Why Adoption?

We have always wanted to adopt a child as I (Sara) am also an adoptee, and when we were unable to conceive, we knew adoption was our next step to create our forever family. We promise to always remind them of the important role you play in their life.

Family & Home

We live in a single-family home not far from the beach, mountains, schools, playgrounds, and libraries.

How others describe me

Joey is incredibly selfless and willing to do anything for the people he loves. Joey loves to hang out with our dog Finn, read, cook, listen to music, work in the garden, and spend time with our family. Joey is also the cook in the family and makes the best homemade pasta sauce, risotto, and hash browns.

Sara is compassionate, an articulate speaker, and places service above self (especially in her career). Her passion for helping others goes beyond work and touches every aspect of her life. Sara approaches everyone with an understanding heart, open mind, and positive spirit. She encourages those around her, is quick to listen when someone has a problem and promotes healthy communication in every relationship. Sara is creative and kind; loves musical theatre, animals, and working on crafts at home.

how we met

How We Met

In August of 2016, we met on a dating app. We then met a few days later. We got engaged in 2018 at the same spot we met in person for the first time and married in 2019. We now reside in Southern California.

Advice to Future Child

Our future child is always going to know the love they have in their lives and how to celebrate the small moments in life. We would advise our child to treat others as you want to be treated and to respect others. We would love our child to have music in their hearts and to be kind to animals. We strongly advise our child to cherish family time as we never know how long or short people are around in our lives. We want our child to never forget the importance of giving back to others.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We are a fan of semi-open adoption as we want our child to always know how loved they are by their biological family and the role their biological family plays in their lives. We think that emails and pictures are a great way to not only connect but for the child to see and understand where they came from as that plays a very strong part of their life.

Favorites

Joey
  • Favorite Movie: Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas is my favorite holiday. I love decorating the Christmas tree and watching holiday films.
  • Hobbies/Interests: Amateur Radio, reading, cooking, gardening
  • Dream Vacation: Hawaii
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: turn back time
Sara
  • Favorite Movie: Dirty Dancing or League of Their Own
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: My favorite Christmas tradition is on Christmas Eve. We always dress up in a theme of the host's choosing and we play games, eat, open gifts and always finish the night by watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.
  • Hobbies/Interests: crafts, music, playing with our dog, watching tv, family time, traveling, gardening
  • Dream Vacation: Italy
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: My dream superpower would be to understand animals.

We’re here to help.