Welcome! Meet:

Matt + Caleb

Technical Director Games / Professor of Theatre



All About Matt & Caleb

We are friendly, sociable guys who enjoy having game nights and going to escape rooms with family and friends. We also enjoy spending time together alone as well as pursuing our own individual passions.

Both of our families moved around a lot while we were children, which gave us the opportunity to experience a variety of geography and cultures. We feel blessed to have had the experiences we had as we feel it made us more open, accepting, and well-rounded adults. As adults, we’ve moved less and enjoyed being in one place and building a home together.

Why Adoption?

We have been talking about adoption since before we were married in May of 2017. As an LGBTQ+ couple unable to conceive on our own, we have considered surrogacy and foster care as well, but we feel that adoption is the best course for us. We know there are so many children who need loving and wholesome homes. We believe that we will be able to provide a supportive and nurturing environment for any child that we are placed with, and we are very much looking forward to starting our family.

Family & Home

We currently live in a 4-bedroom, 1 ½-bath two story home in Selinsgrove, PA with our three kitties. Selinsgrove is a small town about an hour north of Harrisburg, the state capitol, that we have grown to love over the years. It was a bit of a change for us coming from larger cities like Waco and Austin, TX. We love that so much of the town is within walking distance: the university, the local schools, the public library, the downtown area with some shopping and restaurants, as well as several small parks and playgrounds. We love riding our bikes in the hills and along the river and can’t wait to be able to bring our child along with us, even if they sleep through it all! (Caleb’s mom tells the story of how she used to take him riding on the back of her bike when he was little and he just slept through it all). We have gotten to know our neighbors, which has been nice and not something that we were able to do in bigger cities. It is nice to live in a neighborhood where people will shovel the snow on your sidewalk for you just because they were already out doing their own. We often will take baked goods to our neighbors and they will trade us fruits and vegetables from their gardens. We think it is a very friendly community and a great place to build our family. 

While Selinsgrove itself is small, we are also very close to a lot of big cities. We often take day trips to some of the closer cities, like Harrisburg, and will take weekend trips to New York City, Philadelphia, and Baltimore. We haven’t made it to Washington, DC yet, but really want to get there and go to all of the museums. We love visiting bigger cities and enjoy the diversity of the city and taking in as much of the culture, history, and food as possible. We have been lucky enough to see quite a few shows in NYC on Broadway and have started to become familiar enough with the city that we are branching out beyond the tourist stuff and getting to see more of the city as a whole.

How others describe me

Matt describes Caleb as a dedicated educator who loves his work and teaching students. He is a messy artsy type, which can sometimes be frustrating for Matt as an OCD crazy person :-D, but Matt loves him all the more for it because he knows that’s how many of the great artists are/were.

Caleb describes Matt as a goofy, loving guy. He is passionate about what he does and has a big heart. He is always on the lookout for a new project - whether it be crafting or home improvement, he is always learning something.

how we met

How We Met

We met via OkCupid online. It was funny because Caleb messaged Matt commenting that he liked his colored mohawk, but Matt was already dating someone at the time. Then about a month later, after that didn’t work out, Matt saw Caleb’s message and responded, but then Caleb was dating someone. Finally, about another month later, we finally connected. We talked through email for a while before our first in person date. We had dinner at a vegan restaurant and went to Melting Pot to have chocolate fondue for dessert (something that we do at least once a year now). The date was so great, we met up the next day to keep talking and play some chess together at Matt’s favorite spot in a local indoor shopping place that had a peaceful area with plants and a running stream.

Advice to Future Child

Life flies by so much faster than anyone ever thinks it will; take full advantage of every moment and be thankful for life and the everyday things that fill it.

Family is everything. When it comes down to it, if everyone else in your life is unavailable or can’t identify with you, your family will always love you, support you, and be there for you, even if they don’t agree or can’t identify as well. Keep your family close and don’t take them for granted.

Find what you are passionate about, what makes you happy, and do it. Life is too short to spend time doing something that is not fulfilling and impactful, that makes a difference to you and others around you. Give of yourself and it will be returned in kind.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

It is important to us that, regardless of their background or heritage, our child feels comfortable with themselves, us as their adoptive parents, and their birth parents via an open adoption. To that end, once we are placed and know the heritage of our child, we intend to educate ourselves thoroughly about it and seek out resources and opportunities in the local community to ensure that our child has access to someone who can truly understand and identify with them on that cultural level.

We will be happy to include the birth parents in our child’s life by sending pictures and, if they want to, meeting a few times a year.



  • Favorite Movie: The Emperor’s New Groove
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Halloween: love to carve jack-o-lanterns, dress up in costumes, and scary things like horror movies and haunted houses. Christmas: we enjoy making gingerbread structures (we’ve done houses and castles so far); going to pick out, cut, bring home, and decorate our own Christmas tree together while listening to Christmas music and drinking hot chocolate; Matt’s family loves to bake lots of Christmas goodies and usually has a full day dedicated to baking together in the kitchen and munching on yummy homemade treats!
  • Hobbies/Interests: game development (tabletop and video games), escape rooms, crochet, making cool stuff with lasers, baking and cooking, biking, gardening
  • Dream Vacation: scuba diving in a cave in warm water with family and friends
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: teleporting
  • Favorite Movie: Lilo & Stitch
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: I enjoy all the baking and cooking around Christmastime. I have always loved being able to go home fo Christmas and get my favorite foods, whether it was growing up and having my grandmother cook or now having my mom cook. I also enjoy helping make the Christmas dinner with everyone in the kitchen helping out.
  • Hobbies/Interests: board games, gardening, cooking/baking
  • Dream Vacation: scuba diving trip in Fiji
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: teleportation

We’re here to help.