Welcome! Meet:

Matt + Erin

Engineer / Accountant

New York


None / Catholic

All About Matt & Erin

Hello! We are the Anthony Family. My name is Erin and my husband’s name is Matt. We also have an amazing 2-year-old daughter named Olivia who was born via surrogacy in 2020. We live in Long Beach, NY at the beach and about an hour from New York City. I am a CPA and Matt is an Engineer. I was born and raised in Long Island, New York and Matt grew up in Toronto, Canada. We live a very active lifestyle and love everything about living at the beach. Matt and I have been together for eleven years and have been married for seven. 

We offer never-ending love and support, a large extended family, a comfortable and secure home, and all of the affection that we can possibly give. We hope to have a great relationship with our birth mother that is open and honest and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for considering giving us the greatest gift.

Why Adoption?

We have chosen adoption because we love being Olivia's parents more than anything in the world. She brings such joy to our lives and we think that we have a lot to offer as parents. We also would love for Olivia to grow up with a sibling because we know how special our bonds with our siblings are. Erin was diagnosed with early-stage breast cancer in 2016 at the age of 31. The cancer was fed by estrogen so Erin is now on medication for 10 years in order to control the estrogen to ensure that she will live a long, healthy life. Erin cannot become pregnant on the medication which is why we chose to use a surrogate to have Olivia and also why we are choosing adoption in hopes of growing our family.

Family & Home

We live in a three-bedroom, three-bathroom home down the street from the beach. Long Beach is a very close-knit community where your neighbors are friends and everyone looks out for each other. We love living in Long Beach and all that it has to offer. In the summer, we spend all of our free time on the beach and riding our bikes around town. In the winters we drive up to Vermont to go snowboarding. 

Erin has a sister and a brother who live in Long Island and a sister who lives in Washington, DC. Her parents live in North Carolina. Matt has a brother who lives in Toronto and his parents also live in Toronto. We are very close with our families and spend a lot of time with them. We have 5 (soon to be 6!) nieces and nephews and love spending weekends and vacations with them. We also have a very large extended family.

How others describe me

Erin about Matt- Matt is one of the nicest people I have ever met. He will go out of his way for almost anyone and is always focused on making a life for us that is nothing short of amazing. Matt is extremely personable and can strike up a conversation with pretty much anyone. He's always looking to better himself and really enjoys learning and trying new things. He’s a great listener and always seems to know exactly what to say in every situation. He loves to spend his spare time being active whether it's surfing, snowboarding, going to the gym, cycling on the boardwalk, etc. He is also the best Dad on earth and has the cutest relationship with Olivia.

Matt about Erin- My wife Erin is one of the most amazing people I have ever met, specifically because of how selfless and determined she is. I am convinced there is no challenge she can’t overcome, but the interesting thing is how she chooses the tasks she undertakes. Erin never acts for selfish interests. She acts in a manner of helping others. Whether she is calling or emailing a congressman/woman to persuade them to vote for continued funding for a cause she feels is important for all Americans, to personally speaking with the NY State Office of the Deputy Commissioner, urging them to process some paperwork in a timely manner to ensure employment for her sister in the NYC Department of Education. Nothing will ever stop her! Erin has been described by others as a beautiful, pleasant young woman, but the thing I like about her most is her happy and positive disposition towards life and how much I learn from her every single day. Erin is also an incredible mother to Olivia. The love and bond that her and Olivia share is truly unmatched.

how we met

How We Met

We met at a bar in Long Beach. We had both just moved to Long Beach (Erin from NYC and Matt from Toronto). Matt was out at the bar with the Long Beach Surfing Club and Erin was out having a drink with a friend. Matt approached Erin and her friend and we spent the rest of the night out on the town together. Matt asked for Erin's number that night and took her out on a date the next week. We hit it off and have been together ever since.

Advice to Future Child

Shoot for the stars and live life to the fullest. We will be your biggest fans and will offer never-ending love and support through everything. Life has so much to offer and we hope we can teach you to appreciate all that you have and understand that love, kindness, and respect are so important. We will tell you every day how special you are and how important it was for us to bring you into our lives. While we’ll work on not spoiling you, we will provide you with all of the tools needed in order to truly succeed in life. We will raise you on a healthy diet and ensure that we afford you with everything that we possibly can to give you the best life imaginable.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We hope to have a great relationship with our birth mother that is open and honest. We look forward to staying in touch and taking their lead on the involvement that they desire. We will let our child know their story from the very beginning and how grateful we are for their birth mother.



  • Favorite Movie: School of Rock
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: everything about Christmas is my favorite
  • Hobbies/Interests: surfing, paddle boarding, playing the guitar, traveling, snowboarding, yoga, swimming in the ocean and hanging out at the beach, and spending time with Erin and Olivia
  • Dream Vacation: an African safari
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: to be in multiple places at the same time


  • Favorite Movie: Bridesmaids
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: I love Thanksgiving. We spend the holiday with family every year and it is always such a great time enjoying the food and reflecting on all that we are grateful for.
  • Hobbies/Interests: traveling, exercising, Bikram yoga, snowboarding, spending the summers at the beach, and spending time with friends and family
  • Dream Vacation: We recently took a two-week trip to Europe and it was amazing. We went to Portugal, France, and Spain with Olivia and it was a dream come true!
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: teleporting

We’re here to help.