Welcome! Meet:


Teacher of the blind/visually impaired



All About Megan

I am a big nature lover.  I spend the majority of my free time outdoors and exercising.  My favorite hobby is riding my bike.  I love starting off my day with a morning bike ride before work.  Health and fitness are extremely important to me.  I have been a vegetarian for 27 years and take much care regarding what I eat.  I love the mountains and getting out there to go hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking, or trail running.  Additionally, I love going to the beach, parks, farmer’s markets, and concerts.  Music fills my soul, especially the genres afrobeat, reggae, and R&B.  For work, I teach children who are blind.  I teach them how to read braille, use technology, life skills, and so many other things.  I have lived my life to the fullest by traveling the world, going on many adventures with friends, enjoying a variety of hobbies, while having a career that fulfills me.  I have had a good life.  I am now at a place where I am very much looking forward to settling down, focusing on a family, and caring for a child.  I look forward to everything about motherhood.

Why Adoption?

I have always wanted to adopt a baby, but also wanted to get pregnant and have a baby of my own.  I realized that it might be difficult for me to become pregnant naturally and I decided to try to get pregnant through IUI treatments and the use of a donor.  After 7 unsuccessful attempts, I knew that I was physically and emotionally done.  The pain of trying to conceive was such a challenging time in my life, but one that I am now grateful for since it has led me to adoption.  Being a mom is what I want more than anything.  I can’t wait to create my life around my child’s needs.  My focus will be on helping them to thrive, creating lasting beautiful memories, and nurturing them to become who they uniquely are.  I want to celebrate their culture, create a home where they feel incredibly loved and cherished for who they are, and always allow an open door for them to ask about their adoption story.

Family & Home

I love my cozy, Spanish style home that has so much charm.  It’s a free-standing house with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, a large living room, and an open kitchen.  I enjoy all the natural light that pours in through the many windows; and love curling up on the cushioned bay window seats.  My home is filled with a variety of plants, large crystals, and photography from my travels.  There is a fireplace in the living room and I love sitting in front of it in the winter.  I have a beautiful landscaped grassy front lawn decorated with flowers and palm trees.  The backyard is my sanctuary.  It’s private with a wooden fence and tall trees.  There are many cacti and succulent plants, a small garden with strawberries, a hammock, and outdoor furniture with a big umbrella for shading.  It’s such a quiet and peaceful place.  

My neighborhood is one of the more desirable places in my city to live in.  It is so charming with its unique historical Spanish style bungalow homes.  I love all the succulent plants and cacti that pepper the lawns, and palm trees that line many streets.  I am a short walking distance to numerous restaurants, shops, florists, and much more.  There is a very large park close to my home that has various gardens, museums, a zoo, lots of walking paths, and grassy areas to picnic at.  Multiple playgrounds are close by with many families that plan play dates.  There are always families walking along the sidewalks with their children in strollers and dogs on a leash.  It is truly a beautiful place to raise a child.  

I live in Southern California, and there are many beaches, parks, a large bay for water sports, and a charming harbor to walk along.  The neighborhoods have many cute shops selling plants and trendy gift trinkets.  There are also a plethora of restaurants, including a variety of vegetarian and international food which makes me happy.  It is also incredibly bike friendly and you often see families out on rides together.  There are also some small local mountains which I frequently go to.  The people here are laid back and friendly, and there is a great amount of diversity which is important to me.  Additionally, it is an affluent city, and because of this, the school districts are of good quality and it is a safe place to live.  There is a community pool not far from my house as well as community centers throughout the city with parks, basketball courts, and tennis courts.  Not far of a drive are charming mountain towns I also love to spend time at.  In the winter, there are a variety of snow activities to do; and in the fall, one of the towns is popular for families to pick apples and eat pie.  

I am so blessed to come from such a loving family.  They mean the world to me.  I am very close with them, especially my sister, Dena.  My parents have been married for 57 years and show me what loving dedication looks like.  They have supported me through each and every step of my life.  I have 3 siblings: Dena, Mike, and Steven.  They are all happily married and have children.  I have 8 nieces and nephews.  I am so excited for a child to come into our larger family and be so loved by all their cousins.

How others describe me

I am someone who shows up for those I love. That I take the extra effort to truly care for those in my life. When times are tough, I sit and listen, and when life brings celebration, I am the first one to show up and give them a hug. Life is about consistency in being present in other people’s lives.

Advice to Future Child

My greatest hope is that you will be happy, feel confident in yourself and your endeavors, find your passions and talents, and enjoy life to the fullest. I want you to know that you are fully loved simply by being yourself. I hope you grow up knowing how cherished and wanted you are and that you can openly express yourself.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

I honor you for the courageous decision you are considering as you navigate what you feel is best for your child. I know that adoption is two families coming together with the love of one child that roots them. I will always honor any level of openness you desire and follow through with my word. I hope I get the opportunity to sit with you and hear all the dreams you have for your child as they grow up and how I can make those a part of their life. I make a promise to always speak of you with so much respect and kindness knowing that it was love that brought you to this place.


  • Favorite Movie: Dirty Dancing
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas- decorating a tree and sharing gifts
  • Hobbies/Interests: riding my bike, hiking, paddle boarding, exercise classes at the gym, traveling
  • Dream Vacation: Madagascar
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: healer

We’re here to help.