Welcome! Meet:


Survey Research Manager




All About Melanie

Hi!  I’m Melanie.  Thank you for taking some time to learn a little bit about me as you consider making an adoption plan for this child.  

There is nothing in the world that I want more than to be a mother.  I want to provide a child with opportunities to discover their own inner strengths and find what brings them joy.  Most importantly, I hope to raise a child who knows they are unconditionally loved.

I grew up very focused on my schoolwork, which carried me through an undergraduate program and a PhD program.  I learned how to teach myself and that being bad at something at first does not mean that you can never be good at it or enjoy it.  I hope to share my love of learning with a child and help them pursue the things that most interest them, no matter how challenging they may be at first.

I work as a survey research manager for the federal government studies.  Early in my career I had the opportunity to travel internationally for the first time, which I found rewarding.  Living in the greater DC area means I am surrounded by multiculturalism and opportunities to learn new things, which is the perfect environment for inspiriting a child.  I would also like to show a child different parts of the world, so that they develop an appreciation of the diversity of climates, cultures, and peoples while they are young.

Currently, my job involves no travel, except for the occasional conference, and allows me to work from home.  This stability is important to me because it will allow me to be a present and engaged mom.

Why Adoption?

When I was young and envisioned myself as a parent, adoption always appealed to me.  When I found myself ready to start a family, I pursued a few rounds of fertility treatments, but decided that wasn’t the path I wanted to take.  Adoption is a better fit for me, and I am so excited to welcome a child into my family.

Family & Home

I share my home with Zoe, my ten-year-old boxer who thinks she is a lap dog and loves every human she meets, and Ryder, my six-year-old cat, who likes curling up with his sister and wishes I would take him along more often when Zoe and I go out for a walk.  I know that both will dote on a child and delight in playing together as they grow up.

I live in a neighborhood that has many families with children of all ages. My house is just a five minute walk from a playground, and about a seven minute walk from an elementary school. It is also a large neighborhood, meaning there is a lot of area to explore on bikes, without ever crossing a busy street. And there are a lot of mature trees and plants and wildlife, including deer, foxes, bunnies and so many birds.

I have several aunts, uncles, and cousins, who live in Virginia.   Living in the DMV has allowed me to grow quite close to them, and I look forward to sharing those close family ties with my child.  It is not uncommon for me to spend a Saturday over at my aunt and uncle’s house.  We’ll go hiking or into the cute downtown area nearby for lunch, chat on the back patio, and in the evenings watch a movie together.  My aunt is my biggest supporter and can’t wait for me to become a mother. 

The winter holidays are big in my family.  My aunts and uncles and cousins all congregate in Richmond every year for Thanksgiving, where my Uncle Mike cooks the turkey dinner and we each bring a dish to contribute.  Cranberry sauce has always been my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner, so I always bring that.  I spend Christmas with my aunt and uncle in Bristow, with my cousins, and when we are lucky, another cousin, Ellen, joins us with her two little girls.

I am fortunate to live near some great friends, many of whom are parents and all of whom are very supportive and excited for me to welcome a child into my home.   I know they’ll be there for me when I need support, and I also know that they will welcome another child joining our last minute summer BBQs, winter potlucks, and one of my favorite new traditions, Passover dinner in the spring.

How others describe me

I asked my best friend how she would describe me and she said:  “I feel like I always describe you (briefly) as compassionate and intentional in thought, word, and action.”  Which I think is a very loving way to say that I have a tendency to overthink things, but I do so with the best of intentions!

Advice to Future Child

When I think about giving advice, I think in terms of the circumstances and my target audience. So trying to come up with advice for a person I have not yet met is hard for my brain to wrap itself around.  But I do think a lot about what I want to send a child off into the world with:  

  • a feeling of being unconditionally loved 
  • a physical and emotional home base that they can always come back to if they need it
  • an awareness of what brings them joy now and an openness to discovering new sources of joy in the future
  • a sense of responsibility to their communities

Perspectives on Open Adoption

If you choose me as the adoptive parent for this child, your baby will always know you.  They will know how strong and selfless you are, and how much you love them.  I think children benefit from having connections to their birth family.  I also think that the more people who love a child, the better.  So my hope is to have an open adoption.  I don’t have a strict definition of what an open adoption would involve, but I imagine that it would include a few visits a year and regular emails or texts.  I also understand that “open” may mean something different for you or that it may change over time.  What I think is most important is that the child know their roots and that their adoption plan was created with love.


  • Favorite Movie: I love movies, so picking a favorite is impossible.  But one of my favorite franchises is The Matrix.  The first one came out the year that I graduated from high school and was very formative for me.  And I loved the fourth one that came out a couple of years ago.
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Thanksgiving with my large extended family.
  • Hobbies/Interests: boardgames, crochet, cross-stitch, gardening, hiking, kayaking
  • Dream Vacation: I have always wanted to go back to Siem Reap, in Cambodia, and spend 3-5 days exploring as many different temples as I can and soaking up the food and culture.  I traveled to Cambodia for work early in my career and took a day trip to Siem Reap to see Angkor Wat and a couple of other temples.  I loved everything about that visit and would love to be able to go back and spend more time there. That isn't a trip that is likely to happen soon though. In the nearer term, I am very much looking forward to taking my child to a Disney park one day. I went as a child and remember it seeming truly magical. I can't wait to pass that experience on.
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Flying would be AMAZING!

We’re here to help.