Welcome! Meet:

Mike + Jen

Hospice Social Worker / Lead Therapist (LCSW)

California

Caucasian / Multi-Ethnic

Christian

All About Mike & Jen

We, Jen and Mike, met in 2012 and got married in 2013 due to dating with strong intentionality, quickly forming a very deep connection (Mike would say, “love at first sight”) and feeling God’s affirmation after much prayer.  As a couple, we enjoy spending time outdoors and engaging in activities like hiking/trail walking, camping, walking our dog Maggie, going to the beach, swimming, and playing tennis.  We feel blessed to have been able to go on many travel adventures over the years, as we both love experiencing different cultures and exploring the many beautiful places around the world.  One of our favorite aspects of traveling is the culinary adventure as we consider ourselves foodies.  We enjoy spending time with family and friends, cooking or indulging in a meal out, renting movies, listening to music, and being involved in our church community.  Professionally, we both pursued social work as we have a heart for making an impact and advocating for change in the lives of others (currently Jen is doing therapy and Mike is working in hospice).  We find our careers very 

rewarding.  Most importantly, we are excited for this next season of raising a family together, and for now we at least get some practice being around our friends and cousins with their children.

HubSpot Video

Why Adoption?

At first, we thought we wanted to have one biological child and adopt our second child, as we have always had a heart for adoption.  We see the beauty in loving and raising a child that for various reasons may not be able to be raised by their birth parents.  While trying to get pregnant for about a year, we both felt our hearts tugged more and more towards adoption, and we felt led by God to adopt a baby, even if able to conceive, and to adopt a second child through foster care, as we see the dire need for a permanent home for children in long-term foster care.  We are grateful that our family and friends are supportive of our desire to adopt.

Family & Home

We live in a very quiet, peaceful, and beautifully landscaped neighborhood with green belts, water features, 5 pools, a kiddie pool, a hot tub, playgrounds, a tennis court, and a town hall.  We are grateful for having so many nice neighbors that have also become friends.  It is also great seeing more young families and children move into our neighborhood.  Our town home is newly remodeled with a Tuscan design.  It is two-stories with a back patio, garden, and garage.  We feel blessed to live within 4 minutes of 2 major freeways and 10 minutes from the beach.  We have an older yet spunky, quirky little rescue dog named Maggie.  Our immediate families all live within an hour of us and we see them on a consistent basis since we have a close relationship.  We have family members and friends who have adopted, and we see that their children are cherished and well-integrated into the family.

How others describe me

Mike is a sweet, lovable man with the biggest smile.  He has a bleeding heart for animals and he is a natural at helping people as a social worker.  Mike is outgoing, great with spontaneity, and ready to have fun.  He makes a wonderful travel buddy and is a helpful husband, doing things he does not enjoy to lighten my load.  I appreciate his interest in spending time with family and how hospitable he is with our family and friends, eager to cook and converse over a meal.  I love seeing God work in his heart when he gets into a worship song or when he feels compassion for others who are hurting or marginalized.  I know he will be an amazing dad who will be devoted and bring so much joy into a child’s life.


Jen is nurturing, compassionate, kind, and generous.  She never fails to place others first.  Her warm, empathetic heart radiates her gentle nature.  Jen is a living example of a Christ-centered individual, as she exemplifies integrity and putting others first.  Jen is selfless and advocates for justice, ethical practices, and unity.  God armed Jen with the traits to be a caring and devoted mother to any child welcomed into her family. 

how we met

How We Met

Jen was busy in her last year of grad school and is not the type to go to bars to meet people, so she felt it would be helpful to consider online dating to meet that special someone.  Mike’s friend created a profile for him, which ended up working out well when Mike stumbled across Jen’s profile on a free dating website.  After connecting via messages and the phone, we first met in person on a beach walk/run, which was casual but ended up being a very fun date as we felt very comfortable and connected easily.  Our first more formal date was going to dinner at a Cuban restaurant and listening to live music at a local restaurant after.

Advice to Future Child

Know you are uniquely made in God’s image with a purpose and unconditionally loved, and no one can take that away from you.  Always be true to yourself as pretending to be anything else is tiring and those that matter will value you just as you are.  Don’t let go of integrity.  Treat others as you want to be treated.  You will make mistakes, but getting back up and persisting is how you learn and grow. 

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We recognize how important it is to maintain an open relationship with the birth parents/family as no one could ever take their place in the child’s life.  As social workers, we understand the value of a child’s roots as part of attachment, forming his/her identity, and reducing any trauma.  Thus, we are very receptive to maintaining an open relationship with the birth family to the extent that they are interested and it is in the child’s best interest.  We see this including letters, pictures, phone calls, and occasional visits.

Favorites

Mike

  • Favorite Movie: Liar Liar
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas! My favorite tradition is decorating the tree to Christmas music and watching Christmas movies.
  • Hobbies/Interests: traveling, cooking, walking/hiking, tennis, music, movies
  • Dream Vacation: Greek Islands cruise
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: to fly

Jen

  • Favorite Movie: Tough question!  One fave is The Greatest Showman
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas!  I love simply sharing a meal with family, playing games together and having conversations with laughter.
  • Hobbies/Interests: hiking, swimming, yoga, running on the beach, baking, playing guitar/ukulele, and traveling
  • Dream Vacation: The Maldives, or any exotic, beautiful place to explore (loved the Philippines, Tahiti, Thailand, New Zealand)
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: to fly or to have the power to heal

We’re here to help.