Welcome! Meet:



New York

African American


All About Nancy

I'm Nancy (“Nansi” is the Haitian phonetic spelling of my name), and I live in New York City. I'm excited to be on this journey to becoming a mom. I have always wanted to adopt, and have been thinking about all the different ways I will express my joy and love for the child who comes into my life. Whether tickling "I love yous" on their tummy, dancing together around the bedroom to Mariah Carey's "Always Be My Baby," or just pressing soft kisses to their forehead as they nap, I can't wait to share life with a child! I look forward to learning from and experiencing the happiness and love of a child as they grow.

I am an attorney and work as a lawyer for a gas/utility company. My job provides me with economic stability, flexible family care options, generous leave policies, and a manageable work schedule. I usually work from home 3-4 days a week. I want to ensure that I will be able to be there for and support my child in a loving and safe home. During the pandemic, I took a leap of faith and adopted a dog. I was matched with this beautiful, sweet, senior doggie--Nala.


VIDEO CAPTION: Blessed to be an "aunty" to my friend's daughter whom I have known since she was a baby.

Why Adoption?

I love kids. When I thought of adopting a child in the past, it was with the vision of inviting a child into a home with my other children so they could be instant siblings. Unfortunately, I cannot have children of my own. I can, however, still fulfill my desire to adopt and be a mom.

Family & Home

My parents were born in Haiti. I was born and raised in the US with a happy childhood in a community that instilled in me Black pride and advocacy (We elected the first Black mayor of NY state, Ron Blackwood). My favorite activity as a kid was reading and I used to get in trouble for my overdue library books! I ran cross country and track in high school and worked on the senior yearbook. After my parents divorced, my brother, sister and I lived with my mom in Mt. Vernon, NY. My father blessed us with 5 more siblings-- four boys and one girl. All together we are 8.

I  live in an apartment complex surrounded by parks (one has a kiddie swimming pool!). I have three elementary schools within walking distance. There are several grocery stores and a Whole Foods 15 minutes away. I enjoy riding my bike or walking Nala around the neighborhood.

How others describe me

My friends would describe me as helpful, thoughtful and kind. They know that I am always willing and eager to assist others and see me as a problem solver. I love to have fun and some of my friends with kids like that I find non-traditional things to do with them such as watching the inflation of the balloons the night before the Thanksgiving Day parade.

Advice to Future Child

Family is everything.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

I have a positive outlook on open adoption. It demonstrates the birth parent's willingness to have some future contact or connection with the adopted child, and also keeps an open door for the adopted child to seek out answers if they ever desire to do so. At best it would be a great blended family.



  • Favorite Movie: Elf with Will Farrell/ Bourne Series with Matt Damon
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day is a magical time as everyone pauses to give thanks, spend time with family, exchange gifts and reflect on the past/new year.
  • Hobbies/Interests: riding bike, reading
  • Dream Vacation: anywhere with a beach
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Like Piper Haliwell (molecular manipulation) in the Charmed Series. She was a powerful force for good.

We’re here to help.