Welcome! Meet:

Sam + Jessi

District Manager / Project Coordinator in Construction




All About Sam & Jessi

We are Sam and Jessi Hanson! We were both born and raised in southeast Minnesota. Both of our families still live in the area, and we are all close. Though we both work hard, Sam being a District Manager for a beverage company and the owner of his own wedding DJ company and myself being a Project Coordinator at a construction company, President of our local NAWIC Chapter (National Association of Women in Construction), and a basketball coach, we still make time for family, friends, and time together. Sam is more of the outgoing, fly by the seat of your pants kind of person, while I’m more reserved, and like to plan things out. We balance each other out really well. He forces me to loosen up and encourages me that everything will be okay even if I don’t have everything planned out in advance. And I help his great ideas come to fruition with my planning and organization skills. They always say relationships are work, and they are, don’t get me wrong, but for Sam and me it has come pretty easy, and I can’t wait to see where the future takes us!

Why Adoption?

I knew ever since I was young, I was put on this earth to be a mom. However, God has different plans for me. Though Sam has 2 amazing boys of his own and they have been the center of our worlds, we wanted to grow our family further.  Unfortunately, we are not able to grow our family naturally. I was diagnosed with Premature Ovarian Deficiency and Sam’s Vasectomy Reversal surgery was unsuccessful. However, we have a lot of love to give, a warm home and an abundance of family and friends who are very excited for our family to grow.

Family & Home

Sam and I purchased my grandpa’s farm in southeast Minnesota nearly 10 years ago. There is something peaceful about being able to walk outside and see the stars at night and hear nothing but birds and crickets chirping. We have 25 acres to play outside with our nieces and nephews, ride the UTV, grow our own vegetables, and have late-night bonfires. The majority of both Sam and my family live within a 25-mile radius of our home. This is truly a blessing as it allows us to get together for random family dinners, weekly Vikings games, holidays and birthdays. We both come from close-knit families and hardly a month will go by without seeing our family members.

How others describe me

The first time I saw Sam with his boys, I knew at that moment I would some day marry this man. He is truly the best person I know and seeing him as a father just warms my heart. He has the biggest heart and compassion for his family and friends. His drive and love for life is something I envy.

Jessi has the most amazing heart of anyone I’ve ever met.  She thinks of everyone before herself and that is a quality that is hard to find.  She is kind to everyone (even complete strangers). Her bond with family and close friends is unbreakable.

how we met

How We Met

Sam and I met through a mutual friend over 10 years ago. He was a DJ at a bar and our mutual friend thought we should meet.  After meeting and getting to know each other better, Sam finally introduced me to his two sons.  At the time they were 10 and 12.  I am forever greatful that she didn’t give up on dragging me to the bar to meet her friend Sam.

Advice to Future Child

Know that we will do everything in our power to give you the best life possible.  We are here for you. Our lives have brought us together for this moment. We will be welcoming you with open arms and loving hearts. We are ready and waiting to help you be the best version of yourself.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We support open adoption, if it is in the best interest of the child.  We truly believe it is important that everyone know where they came from and who their family is as long as it is appropriate and healthy for all parties involved.


  • Favorite Movie: Tombstone
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: My favorite holiday is our 3rd of July Red, White, and Brews event.  I love lighting the fireworks with my family and friends and being together with everyone.
  • Hobbies/Interests: hunting, technology, and music
  • Dream Vacation: England
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: time travel
  • Favorite Movie: Man from Snowy River
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: I love getting together for Christmas.  I truly enjoy having family together, for a great meal, amazing stories and seeing the kids get so excited while opening presents. I also enjoy our 3rd of July Red, White & Brews event.  Our family and friends get together on July 3rd for some amazing food, yard games and an abundance of laughs and unforgettable memories.
  • Hobbies/Interests: remodeling our home, gardening, painting, and playing piano
  • Dream Vacation: I would love to visit the mountains of Australia!
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Omnilingualism

We’re here to help.