Welcome! Meet:

Sergio + Aimee

Treasury Analyst / Art Teacher


Hispanic / Caucasian


All About Sergio & Aimee

We are a caring, strong family ready to adopt a baby who needs a home. We have been trying to grow our family for a long time and it has not been an easy journey, but we know another child is meant to join our family and it will happen at the right time. We know that choosing adoption for your baby is a difficult, selfless choice. We thank you for taking the time to learn about us and consider if our family is the right choice for your child.

Meet our family- Sergio and Aimee, our 6-year-old son, Luca, our dog, Coco, and cat, Socks. We have been married for 8 years and were able to have our biological son a few years after we got married.  

People would describe our family as fun, loving and active. We love to be outdoors and make the most of the lakes, mountains, and ocean near us! Hiking is one of our favorite family activities. At home you’ll find us busy cooking, making art, and playing sports and games together. We prioritize family time, and we spend a lot of weekends and vacations with our extended families. Giving back is something that’s important to us and we want to raise our children to value that. We started attending an inclusive Lutheran church in our area and we want our children to be raised as we were, to care about others and the world around us.

About Aimee-

I was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest. Art has always been my passion and I decided to study art after highschool. I grew up in a small town and after college decided to see the world a bit. For the next several years I lived and worked as a teacher in other countries. These experiences gave me a better understanding of the world and appreciation for other cultures.  I earned a master’s degree in education and after returning to the United States became an elementary art teacher. During my free time, I love reading, trying new foods, running and having fun with Luca!

About Sergio-

Sergio grew up in both Mexico and the U.S. and is bilingual.  He comes from a big family with many aunts, uncles, and cousins. He lived in Mexico with his parents and younger brother until middle school, when the family relocated to Alabama. Shortly after graduating from university he moved back to Mexico, where he taught elementary students for several years. This wasn’t his area of study but he always enjoyed working with kids. Sergio has moved around a lot in his life and feels this has given him the ability to adapt and get along with everyone he encounters. He works at Washington Federal Bank as a treasury analyst and enjoys getting to work with a variety of people. Sergio is into sports, video games, doing DIY projects around our home, and keeping Luca active with soccer and other activities.

Why Adoption?

Family has always been our most important shared value and becoming parents was always our plan. It has been the greatest joy in life to watch our son Luca grow and see the little person he is becoming. We always wanted to have multiple children and were devastated to learn we could have no more biological children. We became foster parents in hopes that this would be a path for us to eventually adopt a young child. We cared for two foster babies and having them leave our home was heartbreaking for us all.

 We decided we couldn’t continue as foster parents, but we did gain valuable experience from this. We learned a lot about parenting foster/adopted children, how to respect their heritage and biological family, and meet the unique needs they might have as they grow. Most importantly we learned that we could love a baby that is not biologically ours as much as we love our son.

My younger sister was adopted, and I also have an aunt and uncle who have adopted 8 children. I learned growing up that families are made in different ways and that adoption is a beautiful way to grow your family. We have so much love and joy to share with another child. We know that adoption is the right choice for us and are waiting expectantly to add to our family.

Family & Home

Our home- We live in the Seattle area where we bought our first home in 2021. It’s a 4 bedroom house with lots of space for kids to play and family to visit. We love the yard with its huge maple trees that kids can swing from and lots of space for gardens and sports.  Our home is in a quiet neighborhood that’s great for walking the dog, riding bikes and playing outside with other neighbor kids. We love that we are just a few minutes away from the mountains for hiking and a short drive away from the city for events, museums and cultural experiences. We enjoy the natural beauty of our area and also the cultural diversity.

Our extended families-  We both come from very close families and we prioritize family time! We spend a lot of weekends and vacations with our extended families. Aimee’s  parents live a short drive away. They are loving and involved grandparents and treasure having all of their 7 grandchildren in their home- usually at the same time! Sergio’s family is in Atlanta and we see his parents, brother and nephews a few times a year and have video calls with them frequently to stay in touch. Both sides of our families can’t wait for another baby to join the family!

How others describe me

 Sergio describes Aimee as a nurturing and understanding mother. “When our son is upset she knows how to listen to him and help him manage his feelings and has so much patience. She’s always thinking like a teacher! She comes up with creative projects to do with him and is always finding opportunities to encourage learning. 

Aimee describes Sergio as “The fun and silly parent! He brings joy and humor into our family every day. He will do things like start a dance party in the kitchen and get Luca to laugh out of a bad mood.”

how we met

How We Met

Our paths crossed over ten years ago when we found ourselves working at the same international school in Mexico. Sergio had already been back living and working in Mexico for a few years and I had just recently moved to Guadalajara to take a job as an art teacher and live in a new city. Soon after I arrived, coworkers introduced us. Sergio showed me around the city and helped me improve my Spanish. I shared my love of art with him and practiced new Mexican recipes on him. It didn’t take us long to realize we were meant to be together! About a year later we were engaged. We got married at one of our favorite beach spots and then left Mexico to start our life together back in Washington.

Advice to Future Child

As your parents, our goal for you is to grow into the person you were meant to be. Our job as your parents is to guide you, love you and help you grow. What we want for you more than anything else is to feel loved and to love, your family, your community and your world. Whatever you decide to do with your time and life as your grow older, we want you to be true to yourself and give what you can to the world around you.

As you grow up you may wonder about being adopted. What I’ve told Luca many times is that families are made in lots of different ways. The most important part of a family is the love that created it, and through adoption you became ours, through the love of your birth mother and the love we had for you before we even knew you.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We hope to have an open adoption as we believe it’s best for children to maintain a relationship with their biological family. Aimee saw that her adopted sister longed to learn about her biological family and realized it would have helped her to better understand her identity. I can only imagine how hard it would be to choose adoption for your baby, and I would imagine it would help the birth mother to see her child grow up and have a connection still. However, I know there are all different circumstances and reasons a mother may not want to be in contact after adoption. We promise to respect the birth mother’s wishes whether you choose an open or closed adoption for your child. Regardless of that choice, we promise to let your child know you love them, as we believe the choice of adoption is truly an act of love.


  • Favorite Movie: I’m really into movies and as a true movie lover I dont think there’s any perfect movie and can't choose just one!
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas time is the best- family, food and time to relax together.
  • Hobbies/Interests: soccer, video games, hiking, since buying a house I’ve gotten really into becoming handy and figuring out how to do everything myself around our home
  • Dream Vacation: Beach! Anywhere, just relaxation and sun.
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: time travel
  • Favorite Movie: The Shining (I love horror movies!)
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Every Christmas eve my dad reads the Night before Christmas to all of the grandchildren. There are 7 kids and they all manage to pile on top of him and snuggle while they hear the story and get giddy with excitement for the next morning.
  • Hobbies/Interests: making art, hiking, yoga, reading, eating new foods
  • Dream Vacation: I’ve never been to Europe, and I would love to take a trip around the continent and see all the artwork I love in person
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: Flying! There are so many places to see in the world

We’re here to help.