Welcome! Meet:

Seth + Molly

Stay-at-Home Dad / Nurse Practitioner




All About Seth & Molly

Hello from the Seay Family from Richmond, Virginia! Our family values togetherness, love, faith, helping, laughter, learning, and family time. We are a family of five, including:

Seth, 31: Born and raised in the Richmond area, studied engineering and has worked for multiple firms before deciding to be a stay-at-home dad. He loves to garden, create delicious food, build, make dad jokes, and learn new things.

Molly, 32: Grew up internationally and landed in Virginia to attend VCU, works as a Nurse Practitioner to provide quality healthcare to underserved populations. She loves people, woodworking, running, making puns, and being outdoors.

Theophilus (Theo), 6: First grader, loves reading, playing in the sandbox, creating new inventions, and arts and crafts.

Daisy, 4: Preschooler, loves swimming, playing with her baby doll toys, outdoor adventures, and going for walks

Ezekiel (Zeke), 2: Loves everything and everyone! He especially enjoys copying everything his siblings do.

Why Adoption?

Adoption has been a part of our family plan since we were dating. We think adoption can be beautiful. Our family is safe, compassionate, and close and we would love to bring another person into that. We love children and family and our desire to adopt is an extension of that. We hope to provide a nurturing environment for all of our children, however they join our family, to grow.

Family & Home

Our home is a single-family home located in the Forest Hill/Swansboro area in Richmond City. We love our neighborhood. We have owned this home for ten years and know most of the neighbors fairly well. We have a large yard (for a city house!), where we play, garden, and keep chickens. Our home is within walking distance to four playgrounds, two schools, and multiple cafes and restaurants.

We have good, long-term friendships. Both of us see our friends throughout the week, and we strive to have our home be a haven for our friends, families, and neighbors. We attend church and have a strong community there as well. 

We are both family-oriented and frequently see both sides of our family, and communicate regularly throughout the week. Our children have strong bonds with their cousins and grandparents.

How others describe me

Seth is loyal, intelligent, and creative. He is laid-back and patient. He laughs often and is light-hearted. He is caring, safe, and welcoming. He is a fantastic father. 

Molly is optimistic, enthusiastic, and compassionate. She is a driving force for good among our family, friends, and community. She’s amazing at bringing people together and making strangers feel like friends. She is a thoughtful, fun loving, encouraging mother to our children.

how we met

How We Met

We met shortly after college when Seth moved in down the street from Molly and our friendship as neighbors began. After about a year, we realized we were a great match and started dating, and then married about one year later. We have been married eight years and our friendship has only grown closer.

Advice to Future Child

We hope you grow up knowing that you are loved. No matter what, we will always love you and you will always have a place to call home. Be yourself. You are unique and amazing as you are. We are so proud of you.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We are interested in a high level of openness with the birth family. We recognize that this is an ongoing conversation, and we are flexible to revisit it at any time with the birth parents. We would be comfortable with in-person contact with birth parents as well as long distance (letters) or virtual (texting, FaceTime, phone calls). We would primarily seek out time with the birth parents, but would be open to spending time with the extended birth family. We are open to and are willing to consider every level of openness.


  • Favorite Movie: Spider-Man Homecoming
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas. It may be a little chaotic, but I love having the whole family around.
  • Hobbies/Interests: cooking, gardening, fitness
  • Dream Vacation: roadtrip across the country
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: the ability to fly!
  • Favorite Movie: Sister Act 2
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas season; it is always a big celebration!
  • Hobbies/Interests: outdoors, fitness, music
  • Dream Vacation: mountain cabin
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: to make all supervillains into superheroes

We’re here to help.