Welcome! Meet:

Shiva

Partner and VP, Data and AI

California

Middle Eastern

All About Shiva

Hi, I'm Shiva! I live and work in San Francisco, I grew up mostly in Canada, and I was born in Iran.  I love spending time with my family and friends. I believe family is truly important and I cherish mine and am grateful for the bonds we have.

I find big moments of joy in learning. I love reading, music, movies, and history.  I also love to travel and learn about new cultures and people.

I'm excited to begin my adoption journey! Thank you for your interest in my profile and in getting to know me.  I look forward to meeting you!

Why Adoption?

Since I was a child I've always wanted to adopt. My aunt got me thinking about it and I always thought it's a wonderful way to become a parent.  I’ve also been inspired by adoption stories in my extended family and friends growing up.  

I also have three god-children, and I volunteer as a mentor to foster kids. It has been a very rewarding experience.

Family & Home

I live in a nice neighborhood in San Francisco, near the Embarcadero, not far from the Giants baseball stadium.  I live in a spacious and bright two bedroom apartment. There's a common area for families and kids, a barbecue area, and a nice swimming pool.  I love my living room; it's full of pictures of loved ones, books, and a piano, with a beautiful view of the bay. I really like this area because there's a lot to do including outdoor activities, and it's kid friendly.  

Family relationships: I'm very family oriented, and in the past three years, a niece and nephew have been added to my life and I adore them. I have family in California as well as in Ontario, Canada, the UK, and Iran.

How others describe me

My friends tell me I'm fiercely loyal, greatly value and invest in family and friendships, and I love science!  They also say that I’m very active, I keep busy and I work hard.

Advice to Future Child

Be true to your values, be kind in every circumstance, you won’t regret it.  Go for what you want, don’t be shy, take chances, don’t worry about what people think, be confident, breathe deeply, meditate, have a couple of sports that are social, dance, learn music, and laugh as much as possible.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

Having gone through the training sessions, listening to families that have adopted or are biological parents, I think there are clear benefits to having a connection to biological parent(s),— you’re not left wondering your whole life who they are and wanting to find them.

Favorites

Shiva
  • Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption, The Young Victoria, Shakespeare in Love
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas at my parent's home in Toronto
  • Hobbies/Interests: tennis, squash, dancing, piano
  • Dream Vacation: Europe, Greek Islands, exploring new countries like Georgia
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: making wishes come true

We’re here to help.