Welcome! Meet:




African American


All About Stephanie


My name is Stephanie and I currently live in Los Angeles, CA. I have been working as a Clinical Psychologist with children and adolescents for about 25 years. I have been married before and tried to have my own children many times, yet it never happened. As the years went by, my desire to have children never went away. I have been a foster parent since 2013 and finally decided it’s time for me to begin my journey to have a child of my own. I decided to begin the adoption process in the hopes of becoming a mother to a beautiful baby. My journey has been a long one. I am hopeful and can’t wait to share my home and my life with a child. I have a large family that originates from New Orleans, Louisiana. We have large family gatherings regularly, especially during the holidays. We travel often and take vacations to places, like Jamaica, Europe, and Africa. I would love to have a child that can share these experiences with me. I have lots of nieces and nephews that support me in my decision to adopt. I remind them, and other family and friends, that they will be a part of my village to help take care of the baby. I am excited about my journey and can’t wait to be a mother!

Why Adoption?

I have been on a long journey since 2013. I have experienced failed pregnancy attempts and have fostered many children since then. I am excited about the thought of parenting my own child through adoption! I am thankful for the opportunity to be a mother to a child that is in need of a permanent home. I have been a mother to many children and adolescents due to the nature of my work, yet I would like to have a child of my own. I have so much love to share and I want to share my life experiences, not only with my nieces and nephews, but with my own child. I have a lot to give.

Family & Home

I live in a suburb in Los Angeles that is close to many parks and restaurants. I enjoy walking through my neighborhood or going to the park to play tennis and run on the track for exercise. My hobbies include traveling, playing tennis and hiking. I have a large family that is very supportive. My parents were from Mississippi and New Orleans and came to California for a better life. They provided me with a wonderful education and I spent my first year of college in England. We traveled the world throughout my childhood, which was the best educational experience. I am very close with my sister, who has 5 children of her own. I am also close with my nieces and nephews, who are like my own children. We have family gatherings often where we swim, go to the beach, or go to amusement parks. Holidays are important and I usually end up being the cook!  Some of my favorite dishes are gumbo, red beans and rice, and lasagna.

How others describe me

People would describe me as dedicated, always taking care of others, and caring. I am a hard worker and have spent most of my life helping children and adolescents prepare a better life for themselves. I am dedicated to helping those who are less fortunate than I. I enjoy getting together with friends and family and I am a very social person. I like to have fun and I spend a lot of time doing outdoor activities, like hiking and skiing. I focus on being happy and enjoying life!


Advice to Future Child

My advice to my child would be to always stay humble, stay focused, and enjoy life to the fullest! I value education and would tell my child to take school seriously and to always strive for the best. I would tell him/her that God and family come first and that good friends are important. I would also say that taking care of yourself is a priority.

Perspectives on Open Adoption

Since I have been a foster mother, I have had a lot of contact with birth parents. I feel it is important to keep open communication, if the parent is open to it. It is very important for the child to know their history. Many children who are adopted have questions about their birth parents and family. Knowing this, helps the child develop a good sense of self.


  • Favorite Movie: “Mo Better Blues” by Spike Lee
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: Christmas and cooking for family
  • Hobbies/Interests: hiking, skiing, tennis, long walks, BBQ’s with friends
  • Dream Vacation: A safari in Kenya
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: to be able to fly

We’re here to help.