Welcome! Meet:

Will + Karen

Small Business Owner / Educator


Multi-Ethnic / Caucasian


All About Will & Karen

A meat loving guy and a veggie loving lady find common ground in gyoza, scenic drives and cast iron cooking! 

Will works at a local construction company. He has worked for the same company since he was 17 years and is now the owner! Karen has been an educator for over 12 years in a variety of positions. She is currently an assistant principal at an inner city charter school. 

While we have some different individual hobbies and interests, we enjoy picnics and drives together. We also enjoy cooking together and trying new restaurants. 

We believe in the beauty of adoption and it is our first choice for building our family. We believe that the Lord has called us to grow our family in this way. We are ready and excited to bring a child into our home!

Why Adoption?

Adoption has always been our first choice! The conversation to adopt began back when we were first dating. Adoption became part of our planning as we discussed and prepared for our future together.

Will has two younger adopted siblings, and his family fostered throughout his growing up. This experience grew his desire for adoption.

Karen has also always desired to adopt and finding this mutual desire in Will was one of the things that drew her to him. Both of us believe in the beauty of adoption and we are excited to grow our family in this way!

Family & Home

We live in a subdivison in a small Southern town. Our house has three bedrooms and two bath, and about 3/4 of an acre. Our neighborhood is quiet with lots of other families with children. 

We love to sit on our deck when the evenings are cool. There are hills covered with trees nearby and we love to drive through during the fall when the leaves are changing colors. While we don’t get a lot of snow, we do love the light sprinklings that sometimes come in the winter!

Much of Will’s family lives close by or within an hour’s drive. He has three sisters and one brother and several nieces and nephews. We see them often for holidays and get togethers. 

Karen’s immediate family live in California, with extended family spread out through several other west coast states. We fly to see Karen’s parents and brother a couple times a year and they come to visit as well. 

We have a very supportive community through our church and friends.

How others describe me

How Will describes Karen:

Karen is kind and intentional. She’s also a little nerdy, though she would deny that. Karen has a lot of experience due to her career as an educator. That experience will make her a great mother. She is extremely compassionate and loving. 

How Karen describes Will:

Will is one of the most hardworking people I know! He deeply desires to provide well for his family. He is direct but compassionate. I know he will be a loving father who will patiently teach our children practical skills.

how we met

How We Met

We met through an online dating app in 2017. At the time, Will lived in Georgia, and Karen was living in Cambodia, teaching at an international school. We both knew right away that this was something special. We long distance dated for seven months before we met for the first time when Karen came to visit the summer of 2018. Will flew to Cambodia and proposed in April 2019 and we were married in June! We now live happily in Georgia.

Our story is unconventional but we truly feel the Lord used our dating experience to grow good communication and our relationship is stronger because of it!

Advice to Future Child

> Work hard! 

> Guard your reputation and make wise decisions.

> Every situation is a learning experience if you allow it!

Perspectives on Open Adoption

We believe in doing what is best for the child in an adoption situation. We want there to be love and support for both families. We plan to always be open and honest with the child. They will always know their story and where they came from!


  • Favorite Movie: Outlaw Josie Wells
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. I enjoy eating good food with family and friends.
  • Hobbies/Interests: clay pigeon shooting, fishing, barbecuing
  • Dream Vacation: cabin in the mountains of Montana
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: the ability to control time
  • Favorite Movie: Pride and Prejudice
  • Favorite Holiday/Tradition: I love Christmas! I love going to cut down a tree and decorating it with ornaments and lights.
  • Hobbies/Interests: reading, playing guitar, cast iron cooking, photography
  • Dream Vacation: safari in Africa
  • If I Could Choose a Superpower: transport anywhere instantly

We’re here to help.